Thoughts on This Covid Christmas

How are you feeling about this Covid Christmas?

It’s such a strange time, and there’s a lot of sadness, I know… especially at the moment. In the midst of the Covid Christmas sadness, I just wanted to share 4 brief encouragements that have been blessing me.

How do I feel about Christmas this year?

The strangest Christmas I’ve known. And I find myself wondering: how do I handle Christmas this year? Maybe you’re wondering that too. And today we just found out that Christmas is going to be even less possible than we thought… and I know many hearts are breaking about that news.

It looks like it might well be Christmas without my family. Christmas without our traditions. Christmas missing people I love. Christmas with sadness this year.

So how can I encourage myself about Christmas this year?

Here are some short thoughts I hope will encourage you.

  1. Rejoicing in God With Us

Well, the first thing, I think, is to rejoice in God Himself. Is my joy first in our traditions, or seeing family, or parties? Not that those things are wrong, but will I lose my joy when they aren’t possible? 

Or is my deeper joy in the good news that is far greater and far supersedes anything of this world? Trusting in Jesus Christ and following Him, my sins are forgiven. God has given me Himself (as He does to all who come to Him through faith in Jesus as Saviour, following Him as Lord). That’s such a reason to rejoice.

‘Then the angel said to them, “Do not be afraid, for behold, I bring you good tidings of great joy which will be to all people.’ Luke 2:10

When I think about it, I realise that there is still such good news of great joy. God gives me Himself. He is Immanuel- God with us. And that is all the more precious when I can’t be with those I love.

‘“Behold, the virgin shall be with child, and bear a Son, and they shall call His name Immanuel,” which is translated, “God with us.”’ Matthew 1:23

2. Being Comforted By God

This Christmas isn’t going to be the same as normal, and it would easy to be sad about it. And I know that’s not wrong. But I’m learning that the God of all comfort loves to draw us into His arms and minister to our sadness. And I deeply believe that there’s an invitation for us all to come into God’s Arms to be comforted for the things, and the people, we are missing this year. And that’s okay. I’m learning that He is very compassionate, and He loves (and longs) to comfort me in my sadness.

‘Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of mercies and God of all comfort,’ 2 Corinthians 1:3

3. Being Thankful For What We Have

And being thankful for what I am given. I was afraid I might be completely on my own this Christmas, with Covid restrictions and logistics. But God has given me a family in His body, the church, and dear friends have offered to share their Christmas so I won’t be alone. And that’s such a gift- a gift from a gracious Father Who cares.

When I stop to think, I realise there are so many kind gifts from my loving Heavenly Father. And they are all the more poignant in the context of Covid.

I’m learning that being thankful for what is given brings sweet joy in God. 🙂

4. Joy in Giving

And there is joy, too, in blessing others. I often feel that I can do so little in comparison to the great, great need out there. But I’m learning God has a way of multiplying our little efforts. Even a little card of encouragement or gift given in love can bring deep joy, both to others… and also to ourselves.

Let’s not let all the sadness around us take our joy in God.

Let’s draw close to God and let Him minister to us.

Let’s be grateful for what we do have. 

Let’s share hope in Him with others.

Whatever the circumstances, I can rejoice because God came to us… God made a way back to Him through repentance and faith in Jesus as Saviour… God gives us Himself.

And I know that He is truly the greatest Gift of all.

Scripture taken from the New King James Version®. Copyright © 1982 by Thomas Nelson. Used by permission. All rights reserved.

Leave a comment