A Love that can Change your Life…

Something God has been ministering to me deeply is His love as Father.

It’s the most astounding, healing, freeing, wonderful truth… And it’s everything our souls truly crave and long for. I’d like to blog about it because it’s so wonderful, and so, so transforming and healing and good!
heaven-blog-post

Knowing that you are loved by God as your Heavenly Father is so, so healing. It’s not something to know on the surface: it’s something to soak in; to drink in; to bathe in; to live in. It’s soaking in His presence, drinking in His love, listening to His tender, gentle voice. Because His love is real, and solid, and powerful, and unimaginable, and unending, and so, so, so very good.

Knowing God as Father is the answer for everything; everything. It’s forgiveness through Jesus when we mess up. It’s strength when we are weak. It’s arms of comfort when our hearts are racked with pain. It’s strong arms of security when we are afraid. It’s peace when we are anxious and confused and anxious. It’s assurance that we are loved when we worry what people will think. It’s hope for the future and deep, pure, wise strength for today. It’s everything we need for the journey.

No matter what the problem is, the solution is always coming to our Heavenly Father, and letting Him be all we need. He has comfort for our sorrows; joy for our tears. He holds us in strong arms. He surrounds us with a fierce, powerful love. He is fiercely tender and wonderfully protective. When we look to Him through Jesus, He will meet each one of us with whatever we need each day.

It starts the way of the cross; turning from our wrong ways and receiving the gift of forgiveness through His Son Jesus, because He loves us so much that He gave His own Son to make a way for us to come back into His Arms. It starts with surrendering our lives to His powerful, wonderful love- to do things His way, because He knows best. That’s the beginning of the relationship, and the way of rescue from the judgement we all deserve and knowing eternally the love that He longs to shower on each one of us.

But that’s only the beginning. The beginning of a life surrounded by His love, whether we are aware of it or not. There is nothing like being held in the Father’s arms and being loved. Sometimes life hits so hard and hurts so much. Sometimes pain is so deep that it feels like no person can come close enough to truly help. Sometimes no person is gentle or patient enough to speak into a place that is raw inside you. But the Father always, always understands. He is always, always there for us. He can minister to our hearts with love in a way that is soothing and healing and deep and true. There is no gentleness; no kindness; no peace like His. Come into His presence, and soak your heart in His love.

And, no, sometimes He doesn’t feel close. I’ve known seasons like that. Sometimes He is growing our faith based on truth, and not on feelings. I remember begging Him with tears to come close, because He felt so far away. But that didn’t change the reality. He is there, and He loves us,  just the same.

And there are so many implications of being loved like this. One that God is encouraging my heart with at the moment is this: it takes away the need for worry, because it means that you are safe, protected and provided for. I am such a worrier- have been as long as I can remember. But God has been encouraging me to rest in His love for me. If I truly believe that I am loved, I won’t be striving to always have all the bases covered. I won’t be looking ahead in fear, trying to provide for every eventuality. I won’t be living today burdened with fear of what might happen tomorrow. I’ll be secure; at peace; able to live and laugh and love and rejoice because I know deep down that He already has tomorrow covered. When I get there, I will find the provision He has had planned all along… because He is a good Father and He actually, truly cares. 

Here are some verses that have been encouraging my heart about my wonderful Heavenly Father, to help you process how good He is:

 

‘The Lord is merciful and gracious,

Slow to anger, and abounding in mercy.

9 He will not always strive with us,

Nor will He keep His anger forever.

10 He has not dealt with us according to our sins,

Nor punished us according to our iniquities.

11 For as the heavens are high above the earth,

So great is His mercy toward those who fear Him;

12 As far as the east is from the west,

So far has He removed our transgressions from us.

13 As a father pities his children,

So the Lord pities those who fear Him.

14 For He knows our frame;

He remembers that we are dust.’ Ps 103:8-14

‘He heals the brokenhearted

And binds up their wounds.’ Ps 147:3

‘Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of mercies and God of all comfort,’ 2 Cor 1:3

‘He will feed His flock like a shepherd;

He will gather the lambs with His arm,

And carry them in His bosom,

And gently lead those who are with young.’ Isaiah 40:11

‘7 casting all your care upon Him, for He cares for you.’ 1 Peter 5:7

I’m writing a song at the moment. It’s not finished yet and it may change, but here are the rough words so far. It’s about being held by my Father through every need, and every season of life.

 

Father Me

Being held by you is my refuge;

Being held within Your mighty wings;

Safe within Your fortress;

Comfort in Your peace;

You are all I need.

You are enough for every sorrow.

You are enough for every fear.

 

Father me, Father me.

Hold me, Lord, tenderly

Father me, Father me.

Hold me in Your peace

As You’re singing over me.

Throughout all my journey,

Through all the joy and tears,

As a Gentle Father,

Father me.

 

You can heal my broken heart; my sorrow.

You forgive my sins and wipe my tears.

I meet You in the valleys.

You comfort all my fears.

You are all I need.

You are enough for every sorrow.

You are enough for every fear.

 

Bridge

Soothe me with your songs;

Held beneath Your wings;

Wipe away my tears;

Hold me through the years.

 

You are enough for every sorrow.

You are enough for every fear.

You are enough for every circumstance.

You are enough for everything.

Why not come into His presence right now, and ask Him to meet you and minister to you with His powerful love?:-)

(If you don’t know this love yet, He is waiting for you with open arms. He cares so much that He gave His beloved Son to pay the price so that you can be forgiven and rescued for all eternity. Turn from your sin. Receive His forgiveness. Surrender your life into His hands. Ask Him to forgive you because of Jesus, and to change your heart. You will find the love you have been looking for all your life).

Scripture taken from the New King James Version®. Copyright © 1982 by Thomas Nelson. Used by permission. All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

