Because You Are So Loved

If it’s ok with you, I want to use this post to explore something God has been encouraging me with, because I think it’s something He wants me to share.

IMG_0062

(Image: Bible: (ESVUK))
I am so, so loved. Really. So, so loved.
I am delighted in by my God. He cherishes me. He sings over me. In Christ, He looks upon me with joy.
That doesn’t mean He loves my sin. He doesn’t! I fail all the time. But my sin is forgiven. My identity is secure in Christ. I wear Christ’s righteousness- and it’s a beautiful robe that covers me.
‘I will greatly rejoice in the Lord,
My soul shall be joyful in my God;
For He has clothed me with the garments of salvation,
He has covered me with the robe of righteousness,
As a bridegroom decks himself with ornaments,
And as a bride adorns herself with her jewels.’ Isaiah 61:10
He crowns me with His love and forgiveness.
‘Who crowns you with lovingkindness and tender mercies’ Psalm 103:4b
And that can free me from an awful lot of stuff.
Other people’s reactions to me never need to move me. They do not define me. I am His, and what He says goes.
‘”I, even I, am He who comforts you.
Who are you that you should be afraid
Of a man who will die,
And of the son of a man who will be made like grass?” Isaiah 51:12
I don’t need any person to validate who I am. I am His… And so very delighted in.
My story and my past do not define me. He will use it all for good. But it does not define who I am. I am His. And so very delighted in. He can redeem and restore and bring beauty in an incredible way.
‘”The Spirit of the Lord God is upon Me,
Because the Lord has anointed Me
To preach good tidings to the poor;
He has sent Me to heal the brokenhearted,
To proclaim liberty to the captives,
And the opening of the prison to those who are bound;
2 To proclaim the acceptable year of the Lord,
And the day of vengeance of our God;
To comfort all who mourn,
3 To console those who mourn in Zion,
To give them beauty for ashes,
The oil of joy for mourning,
The garment of praise for the spirit of heaviness;
That they may be called trees of righteousness,
The planting of the Lord, that He may be glorified.”’ Isaiah 61:1-3
But it’s separate from who I am. I am His. And the identity of God’s people, Christ’s bride, is stunning.
‘You shall also be a crown of glory
In the hand of the Lord,
And a royal diadem
In the hand of your God.’ Isaiah 62:3
Because I am His, I am free to offer, already secure. I am reach out and express what He has given me to share, knowing that I am already loved, and it doesn’t matter how things go. I don’t need to hide away. He has given me much to offer, and other people need it, even when I feel inadequate.
Because I am so loved, I don’t need to be afraid of the future. I battle with this a lot, but the truth is that I am entirely secure, because I will never be alone. Trusting Him, I will never be abandoned. He will always be there, loving me, giving me what I need.
He is always, always there, loving me.
It means all that, and so much more.
And it’s true.
If you are following Jesus as your Saviour and Lord, that is your position, too. And, if you are not yet, He is there, waiting, loving you, longing to pour out all this on you, too.
Because He is that good. He is love. 🙂
The words below are a poem I wrote to encourage a friend. It applies to all who follow Jesus- not as a token thought but in reality, believing in what He has done for us on the cross for salvation, trusting in His blood for forgiveness and living with Him as Lord of our lives, not to earn anything but because we are His. As His, forgiven and accepted, being loved is our security and everlasting hope. I pray these words are an encouragement to you.
Loved

Loved with everlasting love

Which never ends, never gives up;

Enfolding you, around, above;

You are so loved.

 

Woven, knitted, planned above,

Dear design all known, God-touched;

Held, hemmed in, by Heaven cupped:

Forever loved.

 

Enwrapped, enclosed on every side,

Invisible and undefiled,

So vast, so high, so deep, so wide-

This all-embracing love!

 

Hands stretched out, brow ripped with thorns,

Love spilled out, heart broken, torn;

Bled ’til death, spilled out and mourned.

He gave His love.

 

Bursting through the gates of death,

Victory’s healing; bright, immense;

Hope all open, fear falls, dead.

Life swells; sheer love.

 

Resting like a weaned child

Who knows her Father charts the miles.

She has peace, for all is held.

You are so loved.

 

Loved with everlasting love;

Brings a peace this world can’t touch;

That will hold til Home above;

You will be loved.

 

Live pursued by Heaven’s arms;

Can’t escape from mercy’s charms;

Held, all tender; safe from harm.

You are so loved.

 

And though this life may knock you down,

Though the way may twist and turn,

Whate’er the future holds til Dawn,

You will be loved.

 

(The words above can be yours, too. He is waiting with open arms to forgive you, rescue you and give you eternal hope. Surrender your heart and life to Him. Receive His forgiveness. Be washed in His incredible love, and the power of His blood. Surrender your life and decisions and choose to follow Him, and be part of the incredible story He is writing, all the way into a stunningly amazing eternity. He longs to meet with you now… and He longs to meet with all of us).
To receive free emails from this blog, click ‘follow’ and enter your email address. I’d love to keep encouraging you!
Scripture taken from the New King James Version®. Copyright © 1982 by Thomas Nelson. Used by permission. All rights reserved.
Leave a Reply

