Thoughts On Stepping Out

Has God ever asked you to step out? To do something that scares you a little?

This is the week of stepping out: of doing something that has been on my heart for a long time, and God has increasingly been encouraging me to do. I’ve been a songwriter (of a sort) since I was tiny, but this is the week when God is asking me to start the process of recording and sharing some songs. Saturday, Lord willing, will be a whole new experience in a recording studio. I hope to share some on here sometime soon, God willing. But I thought it might be good to use this space as a place to process right now, while I’m messy and in process, and hopefully encourage you, too.

horizon-lake

I feel hesitant; inadequate. How could I think I have something to share; something that matters? And yet, He has been impressing upon my heart that I do. It’s not really about me; it’s about gifts He has entrusted me with; gifts that were meant to be a blessing to others. How could I withhold them if somehow I have something that someone else needs?

Faith is always about walking, one step at a time, in the light that we have, following the One Who leads us.

Sometimes, it’s easier to hold back; to stay hidden away. But how can I, when He is leading me forward? Only, in moving forward, I want to try to do things the right way. Not perfectly: none of us can ever achieve that on this earth. That’s why Jesus died. He died to cover our mess, and, if we come to Him in repentance and faith, trusting and following Him as Saviour and Lord, He covers it forever… and continually. But He is giving me some insight about how to do things in a way that will last. Not that I have this sorted- I don’t! This is just me writing them out. But here they are:

A conviction is growing in me about creativity for the Lord. I love being creative. It’s a big part of why I blog… why I write songs. But, more and more, I’m coming to believe something. What matters is not so much how good something is, or how talented you are, but how anointed it is by the Lord (if that’s the right word). How much God’s hand is on it. How much it has come from the secret place, with Him in prayer. How much it has been birthed in His presence, under His leading.

Of course, it is good to strive for excellence. But it is far better to commit what you do to the Lord, and to do it in His way. That;s the way your plans will bear fruit.

‘3 Commit your works to the Lord,
And your thoughts will be established.’ Proverbs 16:3

Only, success may look more like fruit than fame, if you do things His way. It may look like someone coming to know Him, instead of people knowing who you are. But isn’t that far, far better? Because it’s eternally, wonderfully good.

We can succeed greatly in the world’s eyes, only to find out one day that it was all only ‘wood, hay, straw’ (from 1 Cor 3:12). Or we can fix our eyes on Him and seek to do it His way… which may not look so flashy, or appealing. But it carries more lasting power.

’12 Now if anyone builds on this foundation with gold, silver, precious stones, wood, hay, straw, 13 each one’s work will become clear; for the Day will declare it, because it will be revealed by fire; and the fire will test each one’s work, of what sort it is.’ 1 Corinthians 3:12-13

And behind it all, what you need to know when you step out is that you are loved, no matter what happens.

Peace comes from knowing that you are deeply, deeply loved. That it doesn’t matter how things go. That it doesn’t matter whether you succeed or fail in the world’s eyes. What matters is being faithful with what He has given you. Following His lead. Because that really is success. And knowing that, however things go, He loves you. And He sees all you do for Him.

To the woman whose offering was rejected and misunderstood, He said,

‘6 But Jesus said, “Let her alone. Why do you trouble her? She has done a good work for Me.’ Mark 14:6 (some versions say it was beautiful to Him).

And so I’m stepping out. Not that confidently, but confident that He is leading me. Believing that, while preparation is important, prayer matters far more. Believing that, no matter how things go, I am loved, and secure in His grace.

If you would like to pray for me this Saturday, please pray that I will do this His way, with His help. Lord, help me be faithful and fruitful for You!

I hope I have a recording to share sometime. But, far more, I guess we all need to remember what really matters in the end: hearing His voice say,

‘”Well done, good and faithful servant”‘ (from Matt 25:23).

Scripture taken from the New King James Version®. Copyright © 1982 by Thomas Nelson. Used by permission. All rights reserved.

(If you don’t know Him yet as Saviour and Lord, you can! You can know complete forgiveness, breathtaking love, incredible acceptance and astounding eternal life. Turn from your rebellion, come to Him and receive His full and free forgiveness through Jesus. Surrender to Him, confess Him as your Lord and give your life to Him. He longs to meet you and transform you forever).

Leave a Reply

