Are you wondering where the world is headed?

I had a blog post pretty much planned for this week, but I decided to change it. Because it’s been a bit of a crazy day or two in the world, and there’s something I feel compelled to say.
 It started with a conversation I had recently,about where the world is heading. About how things feel a bit out of control. About how everyone’s talking about where the world is headed.
 image-sky
Maybe you’ve asked that question, too.

It sure feels a bit like the world is unstable at the moment, doesn’t it?

I don’t want to get into politics. I have my thoughts but I could be wrong! I’m no politician. But things this week have made me think.
Because, to be honest, it sometimes feels like the world is shaking… like things are getting a bit out of control.
People ask where the world is headed.
People ask what the world is coming to.
To be honest, I’m sure I know the answer, and I need to share it, because it matters very much.
Where is the world headed?
Well, to be blunt, Judgement Day.
Is that my opinion? No, it’s what Jesus said. You can take it up with Him.
Things do shake in this world, and they will. This world is on a collision course with eternity, and things will get more and more crazy until the end comes.
Deliberately.
They’re supposed to wake us up: to make us think about the future. They’re supposed to shake us up. Not in cruelty, but in love.
They’re supposed to act as a wake up call… To call us to repent. To turn from our rebellion. To turn to God for mercy and a clean slate. To surrender to Him as Lord, and receive His salvation.
Because He cares so very, very much, and He wants to rescue us before it’s too late.
‘Behold, He is coming with clouds, and every eye will see Him, even they who pierced Him. And all the tribes of the earth will mourn because of Him. Even so, Amen.’ Revelation 1:7
‘And the kings of the earth, the great men, the rich men, the commanders, the mighty men, every slave and every free man, hid themselves in the caves and in the rocks of the mountains, 16 and said to the mountains and rocks, “Fall on us and hide us from the face of Him who sits on the throne and from the wrath of the Lamb! 17 For the great day of His wrath has come, and who is able to stand?”’ Revelation 7:15-17
That’s why we need to come to Him.
Not just a token coming for forgiveness and a free ticket to Heaven (which He offers, by the way), but surrendering to Him as Lord, following Him with everything- with your whole life. Taking up your cross and following Him, no matter how much it costs. Because He loves you. Because He gave His own life on the cross to buy your forgiveness. Because He wants to rescue you from what is coming on the world.
Before it’s too late, and you have eternal judgement to face.
Then, when you have that sorted, you don’t need to be afraid, no matter how much things shake. Instead, you are free to live at peace, living for eternal things, not to earn salvation but in peaceful gratitude for what He has given, because you are loved: because you are held in His hand.
God’s been encouraging my heart with that.
If you are His, you are secure.
If you’re on His side, you will always have His help. You will always have His grace. You will always have His provision. You know what the end will be: eternal life with Him.
‘Fear not, for I am with you;
Be not dismayed, for I am your God.
I will strengthen you,
Yes, I will help you,
I will uphold you with My righteous right hand.’ Isaiah 41:10
‘You will show me the path of life;
In Your presence is fullness of joy;
At Your right hand are pleasures forevermore.’ Psalm 16:11
We don’t know all the details, but do know the end of the story.
Jesus wins.
If you’re on His side, so do you.
You don’t need to shake, no matter how things shake around you.
He will keep His little ones safe.
‘He will feed His flock like a shepherd;
He will gather the lambs with His arm,
And carry them in His bosom,
And gently lead those who are with young.’ Isaiah 40:11
You can be still, and know He is God.
‘God is our refuge and strength,
A very present help in trouble.
Therefore we will not fear,
Even though the earth be removed,
And though the mountains be carried into the midst of the sea;
Though its waters roar and be troubled,
Though the mountains shake with its swelling. Selah’ Psalm 46:1-3
‘Be still, and know that I am God;
I will be exalted among the nations,
I will be exalted in the earth!’ Psalm 46:10
My heart still quakes a bit when I look at the news, but it doesn’t need to. I am His. 🙂
And you can be too!

‘Of Benjamin he said:

“The beloved of the Lord shall dwell in safety by Him,
Who shelters him all the day long;
And he shall dwell between His shoulders.”‘ Deuteronomy 33:12

Scripture taken from the New King James Version®. Copyright © 1982 by Thomas Nelson. Used by permission. All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

