When you’re striving and all you really need is to be still…

picture-peace-blogThe more I go through this life, the more I’m learning that the answer is always to come back to my Heavenly Father: to come into His presence and wait on Him.

In His presence, we find all we need.

There is a place where we can find comfort for our trials; peace for anxiety; forgiveness for our wrongs; healing for our tears. It’s in the presence of Father God.

If we belong to Him already, this is where we always need to come back to in everything: back to Him. He is always the answer.

And if you don’t know Him yet, it’s where you begin- coming to Him as Father, receiving His forgiveness through Christ, surrendering to Him as Lord… and finding a love you never dreamed of. It’s the way out of the eternal judgement we all face without Christ, but it’s far more than that: it’s finding what our souls have yearned for all along. Come into His presence. He is waiting for you.

In the presence of Father God, surrendered to Him, we find all we need.

Wisdom for the confusion; peace for the striving; a safe place for the tears… what we are searching for is found in God.

And sometimes what we really need is to come into His presence, to surrender to Him and to be still, and let Him minister to us.

Sometimes, what we really need to do is to just to come away with Him; to be still and receive from Him; to, as my friend put it the other day, ‘soak’ in His presence: to be still and know that He is God.

‘Be still, and know that I am God;
I will be exalted among the nations,
I will be exalted in the earth!’ Psalm 46:10

A few years ago, a lady shared something with me. I still need to remember it, because I so often strive, and forget. It was this: “God just wants to hold you.”

Sometimes, I think He just wants to hold us: to spend time with us: to comfort us; to minister to us; to be with us. Not to look at the clock and rush away, but to just wait in His presence. Not to hold on to our sins, but to bring them to the cross of Jesus and know that His forgiveness is free. Not to stay in the confusion of our minds but to read His Word, and listen to Him speak. Not to stay all locked up inside, but to let Him in to bring His healing; His freedom; His comfort; His release. Not to look to other places to find our souls filled, but to look up at Him and love Him; to drink from Him and find all we need in Him.

And, yes, sometimes it’s not easy. Sometimes He seems far away and the feelings don’t always come. But it’s not about feelings. It’s about Him.

And yes, sometimes it’s a process. Sometimes it takes time. He is wise and thorough and good.

But, whether we feel it or not, He is always there, and He is always waiting to meet with us, and to help us.

‘You have hedged me behind and before,
And laid Your hand upon me.’ Psalm 139:5

‘Where can I go from Your Spirit?
Or where can I flee from Your presence?
If I ascend into heaven, You are there;
If I make my bed in hell, behold, You are there.
If I take the wings of the morning,
And dwell in the uttermost parts of the sea,
Even there Your hand shall lead me,
And Your right hand shall hold me.’ Psalm 139:7-10

I can often be pretty restless, trying to come away with the Lord but still striving. But I sense that He wants me just to come to Him; to surrender; to receive.

The poem below isn’t perfect and it’s not Scripture, but it’s me trying to encapsulate something of this, and I think that maybe the Lord wants me to share it. I hope it blesses you.

No matter what the need, He is always the answer we really need.

Still

Cease striving and be still,

For I am LORD of all

And my deep love will heal.

Be still, My child, be still.

 

Wait humbly and be still.

I do not need your strength.

I only want your all.

Be still, My child, be still.

 

Don’t carry. Just be still.

The burden is not yours.

Just lay it down. I’m All.

Be still, My child, be still.

 

You’ve walked a painful road

And I have shared it all.

I care. I’m here to heal.

Be still, My child, be still.

 

You cannot change what’s gone.

The work has all been done.

It’s finished. I have won.

Be still, My child. Just come.

 

Don’t rush away. Wait on.

I want to hold you, long.

Oh, hear my tender songs.

Be still, my child. Hold on.

 

You’re loved, My child. I’m all

You yearn for. I can fill.

Secure and all is well.

Be still, My child. Be still.

 

Look up, My child. Hold on.

You’ll be Home before long.

The morning light will dawn.

Be still, My child. Hope comes.

 

Scripture taken from the New King James Version®. Copyright © 1982 by Thomas Nelson. Used by permission. All rights reserved.

One thought on “When you’re striving and all you really need is to be still…

Leave a Reply

