Is Your Soul Thirsting for Something?

img_7534

Are you thirsting for something more; deep; something real in your life?

I listened to a message the other day that reminded me of something I’d forgotten; the sweet, sheer joy of walking close to Jesus. It was a message about James Hudson Taylor, who was a missionary to China. Hudson Taylor lived a crazy, pressured life. But he learned the secret of abiding close to Christ, and it was the deep, joyful, satisfied root of his deeply productive, mission-centred life.

(You can find the message using the link below).

http://www.desiringgod.org/messages/the-ministry-of-hudson-taylor-as-life-in-christ

We were made for communion with God. All else is an empty, dissatisfying shadow that may promise much but will ultimately end in a nightmare. We were made to know God, and nothing can satisfy us apart from Him.

Every one of the longings of our thirsty, aching souls was meant to be first satisfied by God before being satisfied by anyone or anything else. He is God, and only He will satisfy, because He made us for Himself.

And He wants us to know the deep, sweet joy of living life with Him.

This is meant to be a moment by moment reality: the moment by moment of knowing God and walking with Him. Yes, we live in a broken world. Yes, we are broken by our sin. But He wants to help us learn and grow in walking, more and more, close to Him. Him. This is what life was like before people rebelled against God.

‘And they heard the sound of the Lord God walking in the garden in the cool of the day’ Genesis 3:8a

We have a recorded example in the Bible of a man who knew something of this reality: the man Enoch. We don’t know much about him, but we know that he walked with God.

‘Enoch lived sixty-five years, and begot Methuselah. After he begot Methuselah, Enoch walked with God three hundred years, and had sons and daughters.  So all the days of Enoch were three hundred and sixty-five years.  And Enoch walked with God; and he was not, for God took him.’ Genesis 5:21-24

Hudson Taylor’s life inspires me because he lived like that: he lived close to Jesus, even as he carried the responsibilities of running a huge mission organisation. He lived seeking to abide in the Lord Jesus: looking at Him with the eyes of faith and drinking from Him for each need, whether big or small. The simple trust of knowing that Jesus is Enough, and that He will meet every need as you look to Him, can bring a life of deep joy and peace, simply trusting in Him.

Again and again, Hudson Taylor would sing his favourite song, and find peace as he sought to live the truth of its words:

Jesus, I am resting, resting,
In the joy of what Thou art;
I am finding out the greatness
Of Thy loving heart.
Thou hast bid me gaze upon Thee,
And Thy beauty fills my soul,
For by Thy transforming power,
Thou hast made me whole.

Refrain

Jesus, I am resting, resting,
In the joy of what Thou art;
I am finding out the greatness
Of Thy loving heart.

O, how great Thy loving kindness,
Vaster, broader than the sea!
O, how marvelous Thy goodness,
Lavished all on me!
Yes, I rest in Thee, Belovèd,
Know what wealth of grace is Thine,
Know Thy certainty of promise,
And have made it mine.

Refrain

Simply trusting Thee, Lord Jesus,
I behold Thee as Thou art,
And Thy love, so pure, so changeless,
Satisfies my heart;
Satisfies its deepest longings,
Meets, supplies its every need,
Compasseth me round with blessings:
Thine is love indeed!

Refrain

Ever lift Thy face upon me
As I work and wait for Thee;
Resting ’neath Thy smile, Lord Jesus,
Earth’s dark shadows flee.
Brightness of my Father’s glory,
Sunshine of my Father’s face,
Keep me ever trusting, resting,
Fill me with Thy grace.

Refrain

(Words by Jean S. Pigott 1876, Public Domain)

This is how Hudson Taylor handled the heavy, pressing responsibilities of running a mission organisation; one that faced horrific persecution and great pressures. He learned that every burden can be cast upon Jesus, and then peace comes. And the sweetest, dearest pleasures are from a life of knowing Him and walking with Him.

Howard Taylor, Dr and Mrs (1995). Biography of James Hudson Taylor, Hodder & Stoughton Religious.

Jesus is always with those who are trusting in Him. He never leaves us. And He wants us to know that: to revel in it! He wants us to delight in knowing Him there with us; in walking in His presence; in the light of His face.

‘Blessed are the people who know the joyful sound!
They walk, O Lord, in the light of Your countenance.
In Your name they rejoice all day long,
And in Your righteousness they are exalted.
For You are the glory of their strength,
And in Your favor our horn is exalted.’ Ps 89:15-17

I was only a very little girl when I first had an encounter with Jesus: an encounter that would begin a relationship that is sweeter than anything else in my life could ever be. My family had been at church that day, and our Pastor had been leading the children’s slot. He taught us the words of a song about looking at Jesus. As I listened, I memorised the words, not understanding how monumental they were. That night, as I lay in bed, before falling asleep, I began to sing quietly to myself, singing the words of the song I had learned. As I did, I was suddenly conscious of… Him. His Presence, so real, so near, so loving… A tenderness, a love I had not dreamed of finding… A joy that was so wonderful, so good… I did not understand what was happening, but I had fallen in love that day. I would never be the same.

It was the beginning of a deeply precious relationship, but the whole of life is meant to be about growing that relationship- about knowing Him and pursuing Him, and walking close to Him.

There are times when we know glimpses of that.

I remember the months after graduating from University when I couldn’t find any job other than working as an ‘agency girl’ in various kitchens, washing countless plates and dishes and scrubbing at dirty pots and pans. I remember the struggle with doing such a mundane task as my job after just graduating from University… And I remember how the Lord transformed the task for me as He made real to me the truth that we can do anything as worship to Him, even washing dishes! There were times when I remembered that, and I joyfully determined that I would wash dishes for the Lord, even if no-one saw me but Him. And I remember the deep meaning and dignity that that realisation brought to my work, and how I often deeply enjoyed those times of washing dishes, because they were meaningful and not empty. It was deeply good to invite Him into my dishwashing, and to know Him in it, delighting in the One Who gives meaning to everything.

It was a little glimpse of something that can be more and more of a reality: knowing Him in the everyday. Not that it’s always easy. There are seasons of darkness when He doesn’t feel close (believe me- I know about them). But there can also be a deep, close walking with Him- and it’s really what we are all searching for, deep down.

I often forget, but sometimes I remember: the answer is always Jesus- knowing Him and seeking Him. Working in ministry, again and again I have found it to be true: the answer is always coming away with Jesus. It’s the secret for every problem; the solution for every need. He always has what we need, and He is always Enough, and will never, never let us down if we belong to Him.

And He wants us, more and more, to know the sweet joy of living like that.

Don’t think I’m living this perfectly. I am not! But it’s what my soul thirsts for. Actually, deep down, I think it’s what we all long for: Him.

And the crazy thing is that He longs for fellowship with us, too!

‘The voice of my beloved!
Behold, he comes
Leaping upon the mountains,
Skipping upon the hills.
My beloved is like a gazelle or a young stag.
Behold, he stands behind our wall;
He is looking through the windows,
Gazing through the lattice.

My beloved spoke, and said to me:
“Rise up, my love, my fair one,
And come away.”‘ Song of Songs 2:8-10

(And He is waiting for you to come close to Him now). 🙂
(If you don’t know Jesus yet, you can- and you need to! He offers you forgiveness and eternal life if you will come to Him, turn away from your wrong and receive His free and generous forgiveness, submitting to Him as your Lord. The things of this world are so empty compared to knowing Him. He is waiting for you).
Scripture taken from the New King James Version®. Copyright © 1982 by Thomas Nelson. Used by permission. All rights reserved.
Leave a Reply

