Who will tell them?

I don’t even know when I first came to know Jesus as my Saviour.

I was tiny, I know. I was taken to Sunday School from the age of two, and there I learned that Jesus died in my place so that I can be forgiven, and that He wanted to come into my life as my Saviour and Lord, giving me forgiveness and eternal hope if I asked Him to and surrendered my life to Him. I gave my heart to Him when I was very small, and He did what He promised. He came into my heart, and has been the sweetest, kindest, dearest Friend ever since. I can’t imagine what it would be like not to know Him. Knowing Him is peace; joy; hope; strength; comfort; hope for this life and the next. Knowing Him is being secure in His hand, no matter what happens. Knowing Him is a clean slate before my Maker when I meet Him one day as my Judge. Knowing Him is rescue from the judgement that I as a sinner deserve. Not knowing Him would be unthinkable.

But, for billions of people in this world, that is not the reality. Actually, 2-3 billion have never even heard had the opportunity to hear of Him even once.

For countless thousands of girls who live and die on the cruel, merciless streets, life is the stuff of nightmares… And they do not know the peace and life and hope of Jesus in them, with them and for them.

I wrote this poem from the perspective of one of them. She is imagined, but I think her story represents the stories of countless thousands who really exist.

CS of a girl looking through the window.

No-one Told Me

I grew a heartbreak child,

Unwanted and unloved,

And no-one ever told me about Jesus.

 

Abused when still a girl,

In terror, walk alone

And no-one ever told me about Jesus.

 

I gave my heart away.

I cannot buy it back.

And no-one ever told me about Jesus.

 

I’ve learned to bleed for breath.

For food, I pay the price

And no-one ever told me about Jesus.

 

Hopeless, I live the streets,

Die with their grasping hands

And no-one ever told me about Jesus.

 

I walk a lonely road,

My burdens on my back,

And no-one ever told me about Jesus.

 

Fast locked in all my sins,

No hope of finding peace,

And no-one ever told me about Jesus.

 

My family never cared.

So lost, I’m all alone

And no-one ever told me about Jesus.

 

Rejected, now I’m old.

Nobody wants to know

And no-one ever told me about Jesus.

 

Survive through scraps of food.

Fast fading, not long now

And still nobody tells me about Jesus.

 

Alone, I leave this world,

So dirty, so afraid,

And no-one ever told me about Jesus.

 

I stand before my God,

My sins upon my back.

And no-one ever told me about Jesus.

 

I face the night of nights

In horror. All is lost.

And no-one ever told me about Jesus.

 

Another little girl.

For her, there’s still a chance.

But who is going to tell her about Jesus?

 

Billions have never heard.

So many do not know.

And who is going to tell them about Jesus?

 

We hold their only hope

Within our blood-bought hands.

Oh, who is going to tell them about Jesus?

 

 

(You can help reach people like her at http://www.gfauk.org ).

Leave a Reply

