Tired? Weary? Battle worn?

The Arms of Jesus are reaching out to us in love, waiting to freely give us all we need.

Sometimes, as Christians, we get tired. Serving Jesus can be hard. This life can be tough. Sometimes, we get deep scars from the fight, and it’s hard to keep going. And Jesus wants to meet us in that place.

roses

I remember a time, years ago, when I was exhausted. I had been very busy helping out with outreach events, as well as balancing that with my studies and other responsibilities, and I hadn’t had much time to rest. I was pretty worn out, and tearful as a result. I finally collapsed into bed, exhausted… and, as I lay there, I had a powerful sense of the Lord encouraging me. He saw all I had been doing for Him. He knew that I was worn out and He knew why. He treasured what I had done for Him, and He wanted to encourage me that it mattered so much to Him: that He treasures me, He wants to help me, and He knows everything I do for Him. He knew every tear and every sigh, and He longed to bring me His comfort.

The Lord is always waiting to meet with us.

For those who don’t know Him yet, He is waiting to give forgiveness, a new start, love we’d never even imagined existed and the hope of eternal life instead of the judgement we all deserve. For those who are following Him, He is waiting to give refreshment, peace and hope as we struggle on through this tear-filled world.

“My beloved spake, and said unto me, Rise up, my love, my fair one, and come away.” Song of Songs 2:10

“Come unto me, all ye that labour and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest.”  Matt 11:28

I wrote this poem to try and express something of that help He is waiting to give His people. It isn’t perfect or Scripture, but I hope it’s an encouragement.

He is waiting to meet with us and give us all the help and comfort we need.

Come

Come, all you so weary,

And burdened by life’s cares,

Wearing life so heavy

And sprinkled with your tears.

There is a rest found in the Arms

Of Him Who holds it all.

Lay down your weary, heavy head

And in His peace be still.

 

Come, weary, worn down traveller

Made tearful by the miles

You’ve walked and stumbled, fought brave on,

But wounded by the trials.

There is refreshment in the touch

Of Him Who shares it all

And joy, and balm of Gilead

With new life from the Well.

 

Cease drinking at the cisterns

That cannot quench or fill

And come instead to My fount deep

Your heart will heal. All stilled.

I made you for One Lover,

And I alone give joy.

Oh, come, My dear beloved!

I long to hear your voice.

 

Bring burdens, bring your worries.

Bring every weighing care

And lay them down in Love’s strong Arms

And rest. And leave them there.

Then rise, and sing, and laugh awhile

For all is safe with Him.

And don’t forget: Rejoice! Again!

For He is Love’s strong Balm.

 

Oh, come! The birds are singing!

My love, now come away.

Arise and drink. Come, love, to Me.

Let’s share the bright, new day.

Let life just be the twining

Of My strong Arms with yours

Oh, let us walk still closer

Til Love’s sweet wedding dawns.

 

Why not come to Him now? 😉

Leave a Reply

