Thoughts on turning 30…

Do you ever wonder how the time went by so fast?

I really don’t know how it happened, but somehow I’ve reached the 30 mark. It’s made me do a lot of thinking, and I thought I’d share some of those thoughts (not that I have them sorted, because I don’t, but just to share what I’m learning).

When I turned 29, I followed my Mum’s example and wrote down a list of things I wanted to achieve in the year. Some of the things on my list were silly. Some were meaningful. And, no, I haven’t managed to tick them all off (although I’m a better cook now than I was and I can now just about knit from a pattern instead of only making scarves! This blog came from that list, too). But it’s helped me to see something: the importance of being intentional about life, because it’s gone so quickly. Why not do that thing I’ve always intended to do now instead of waiting for a day that may never come? I think the list will probably become part of my life far beyond 30 (if God gives me that long), because it’s so helped me to be more intentional.
image

Life is so precious, I don’t want to waste it! No, I guess I’ll never use it perfectly, but I want to use it well! Once a moment has gone, I can never get it back again.

And, you know, when you look back over time that has passed, you want to know that what you have done mattered: that it will have an impact beyond your lifetime.

And what really matters is living for Christ: knowing Him, loving Him, loving others and telling others about Him.

No, I don’t have to earn anything. Jesus did it all for me, living and dying in my place. Trusting in Him, my sins are covered, my eternal future is secure and I have nothing to earn before God. But… knowing that makes me want to live for Him!

I don’t want to waste the precious days I have left! I can be thankful about God’s goodness, forget the mistakes of the past and press forward to what God has for me in the days ahead, like Paul said:

“I count not myself to have apprehended: but this one thing I do, forgetting those things which are behind, and reaching forth unto those things which are before, I press toward the mark for the prize of the high calling of God in Christ Jesus.” Philippians 3:13-14

And no, turning 30 isn’t easy. Ok, I’ll say it. Turning 30 single isn’t easy. There are some cruel lies out there about how our lives should look, as if there’s something wrong if they don’t. But it’s not how God sees things. Not at all! Oh, how He treasures us! Oh, how precious we are to Him! Oh, how good and wise and wonderful and perfectly timed His plans are for those who belong to Him! He delights in me in Christ and His plan for me is… astounding. Knowing Christ is far better than anything this world can offer. I can only live His plan for me and try to be faithful to His call on my life. And He will satisfy me with His abundant provision, as He has always, always done.

It is so, so sweet to know Jesus, follow Him and walk with Him. Not always easy, but very precious and rewarding, and deeply satisfying to know His love- so good, so pure, so far more satisfying that anything this world can give. What could be better than knowing Him? The deepest, sweetest peace is found in knowing Him and walking in His plan for my life.

“Thou wilt shew me the path of life: in thy presence is fulness of joy; at thy right hand there are pleasures for evermore.” Psalm 16:11

I have so much to be thankful for. I look back and see how God has been so kind to me… how He met me when I was just a little girl, and has been so faithful to me ever since. He has given me so, so much. Precious family and friends in many places. Countless blessings. Freedom and peace and eternal hope. And, above all, knowing Christ. I have tasted and I have seen that the Lord is good- and He is good and will be good beyond my wildest dreams!

There is deep peace in being grateful for what He gives.

“Not that I speak in respect of want: for I have learned, in whatsoever state I am, therewith to be content. I know both how to be abased, and I know how to abound: every where and in all things I am instructed both to be full and to be hungry, both to abound and to suffer need.  I can do all things through Christ which strengtheneth me.” Philippians 4:11-13

And, you know, our world has things upside down. People down here want to make life last longer and to make sure it feels good, because it’s all we’ve got… only, it isn’t!  Eternity will come afterwards, in either Heaven or Hell (which is why we really need Jesus). And those who are trusting in Christ have every reason to look forward to the life that is REALLY life… and will go on forever!

“But the path of the just is as the shining light, that shineth more and more unto the perfect day.” Proverbs 4:18

When you are thinking straight about eternity, it makes you want to speed things up, not slow them down- so that you can meet Jesus face to face and live in the Reality of eternal bliss!

But it does change the way you see things down here.

One day, from Glory, I want to look back and know that I lived this life well. I want to see the faces of people who in Glory because of decisions I made today. I want to live a legacy that others can follow: a life lived well by His grace. And, more than that, I want to see a smile on the Face of the One I love more than life itself, and to hear His loving voice say, “Well done”.

So, no, I didn’t really want to turn 30. Maybe none of us do. But… actually, maybe I do! I mean, I don’t want to stay here forever. I want to meet Jesus face to face!

But I do want to make my life count while I am here.

Leave a Reply

