Has Brexit maybe brought a little fear to your heart?

Does the world ever seem a frightening place to you?

It does to me!

Things can sometimes seem crazy and upside down and out of hand and I sometimes wonder how I can find a truly safe place to stand on. And, yes, Brexit hasn’t helped that feeling either. Of course, I knew it was a possibility, and it may have even been the best thing (I honestly don’t know- this isn’t meant to be a political blog post!), but it’s sure taken me by surprise. Maybe it has taken you by surprise, too. Maybe you also find a bit of fear in your heart. I hope these thoughts are helpful.

How can I respond to this big, frightening, unstable world?
Rainbow

 

Well, there is an Anchor. His Name is the LORD and He doesn’t change no matter what may come or go. He laughs at the efforts of the nations to resist His rule (Ps 2). It’s all part of His big, amazing, sovereign plan. So I can be still and know He is God, and He is never, ever taken by surprise.

“Fear thou not; for I am with thee: be not dismayed; for I am thy God: I will strengthen thee; yea, I will help thee; yea, I will uphold thee with the right hand of my righteousness.” Isaiah 41:10

And I am so, so loved by Him. I may be very small in this crazy world, but I am so very, very loved… held in a mighty Hand… and utterly, utterly secure. Hidden in Him, nothing can ever move me. No matter how uncertain or difficult the road may be, I am His… and He tells me not to be afraid.

“And said, O man greatly beloved, fear not: peace be unto thee, be strong, yea, be strong.”  Daniel 10:15a

“But the path of the just is as the shining light, that shineth more and more unto the perfect day.” Proverbs 4:18 (KJV)

I am promised all that I need. So long as I am seeking His kingdom first, I will always be provided for. Abundantly. It doesn’t matter what the state of the economy looks like. His promises are not dependent on the economy. They are dependent on the faithfulness of my God, and He does not change, Brexit or no Brexit!

“But seek ye first the kingdom of God, and his righteousness; and all these things shall be added unto you. Take therefore no thought for the morrow: for the morrow shall take thought for the things of itself. Sufficient unto the day is the evil thereof.” Matt 6:33-34

I still have a purpose. The orders haven’t changed, no matter what may come tomorrow. Live to glorify Him. Go tell all the world of Him. In joy or pain, in stability or chaos, in poverty or riches, in war or peace… No matter what, I have a job to do: to reach out to others with the Good News He gave His people to share with the lost.

“And Jesus came and spake unto them, saying, All power is given unto me in heaven and in earth. Go ye therefore, and teach all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Ghost: Teaching them to observe all things whatsoever I have commanded you: and, lo, I am with you always, even unto the end of the world. Amen.” Matt 28:18-20

And maybe a season of instability is a ripe ground for sharing unshakeable hope in the One Who does not change: Who has promised forgiveness and eternal hope to all who repent, believe and put their hope in Him.

At the end of the day, He is God and I am His. Even if things go crazy, even if it becomes very difficult to live, even if I must die because of what I believe, still I don’t need to fear, because I am His. Paul said it so well:

“For to me to live is Christ, and to die is gain.” Philippians 1:21

So, how should I respond to Brexit? Just keep going! Keep praying! Keep trusting! Keep loving others! Keep reaching out! Keep seeking to reach the world for Him…

Therefore, my beloved brethren, be ye stedfast, unmoveable, always abounding in the work of the Lord, forasmuch as ye know that your labour is not in vain in the Lord.” 1 Corinthians 15:58

…and He will meet me with His abundant, wonderful provision… and peace.

“Thou wilt keep him in perfect peace, whose mind is stayed on thee: because he trusteth in thee.” Proverbs 26:3

(Oh, and if you don’t know Him as your Saviour yet, you need to! This world is crazy and unstable… and, to be honest,  it’s headed to Judgement Day- anytime! Please, please seek Him in repentance and faith so that you will be ready when that Day comes… and then you, too, can find hope and peace no matter what).

Leave a Reply

