Do you long to know that you are loved?

Knowing that you are really, truly loved by God your Heavenly Father changes everything.

I spent many years of my life struggling to believe that the Father loves me. I came to know Jesus Christ as my Saviour and Lord when I was very small (maybe 4 or 5), but, as I grew, I felt a lot of pressure to perform, as though somehow I could earn the salvation He had freely given. I’m not saying it’s completely sorted in me now, but God has done a deep work in me and, over time, something has changed. I’m beginning to believe that I am loved- really so, so loved, and accepted so very fully because Christ died for me- because I have been accepted in Him. When Jesus died, He took my place. His perfect life was credited to my account and my sins really were forgiven. And God my Father doesn’t just accept me. He delights in me!!

Ok, so disobedience to God is never ok (and, yes, continued disobedience that we’re not sorry for may be a sign of not being saved at all)… but my salvation is not dependent on my obedience, but on what Jesus Christ did for me on the cross. God has deeply impressed on my heart Zephaniah 3:17:

The Lord thy God in the midst of thee is mighty; he will save, he will rejoice over thee with joy; he will rest in his love, he will joy over thee with singing.” (KJV)

image

Loved

If you belong to Him in Christ, you are so, so loved! And, if you don’t know Jesus yet, He is waiting for you with open arms: waiting for you to repent and turn to Him: waiting to offer you forgiveness, acceptance, eternal life… and eternal love.

I wrote this poem from a place of beginning to glimpse something of that love. It’s not perfect and it’s not Scripture, but it encapsulates something of what He is showing me about His love for me in Christ. I pray it speaks to you, too.

Love’s Lullaby

The rising sun kisses your soft, sleeping eyes.

You blink and awake to My crooned lullaby

And close all around you I sing my love song,

For you are My dear, sweet delight.

 

Your mind is fast clouded with troubles and fear,

But shhh. Hear My counsel. Feel My tender touch.

You’re held safe in My promises. Strength for each day

Is found in My strong words of love.

 

You don’t have to earn anything from My hand.

You’re accepted already. Secure. Reconciled.

For I see you clothed in My Son’s righteousness

And you are My dear, treasured child.

 

You don’t have to do anything to be loved.

You can be whole now: secure and at peace.

My Son finished all when He died on the cross

And now you are covered and free.

 

Yes, I hold you in love. Deep embrace in My peace.

Look to My grace and your soul will know rest.

Rejoice as you trust. You are sheltered in Me

For I am your safe hiding place.

 

You’ll always have all that you’ll ever need.

You’ll always be loved, in My care so complete.

So rest and relax in the love that I give

For I am your Father. You’re free.

 

So live with the joy of the life that I give!

Laugh with the light of My smile in your eyes!

Dance and rejoice and be whole in My love.

I sing over you love’s lullaby.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

