How Can it be Okay?

Sometimes I catch myself and realise that I cannot waste my life.

Can you remember life without knowing Jesus? Without knowing forgiveness of sin and eternal hope in Him?
For over 2 billion people in our world, it’s reality… without any access at all to someone who could tell them about Jesus, and what He wants to do for them.

Over in Asia, there’s a festival where millions of people go to bathe in a river, because they believe it will wash away their sins. Honestly. They really do.
There was once a missionary who went there. Suddenly, he spotted a lady, weeping uncontrollably. Breaking the cultural rules, he went up to her, to ask her what was wrong. Through her tears, she told him that she was so desperate… Her problems were so great… And she knew it was because of her sin.
So she had given the last thing she had: she had thrown her own baby boy into the river to drown… in an attempt to wash away her guilt.

image
Horrified, the missionary could only tell her the truth. God already gave His Son so she could be forgiven. Overwhelmed by what she heard, the lady listened. Forgiveness of sins was available! God had given His own Son for her! All she had to do was turn away from her sins and receive Jesus as her Lord and Saviour!
Then, through her tears, she asked, ‘Where were you half an hour ago?’

And I live my comfortable life knowing that my sins are forgiven, because Jesus died in my place… Knowing that Heaven awaits me… Knowing that I have strength for today promised and eternal life secured.

And over 2 billion people have never heard His Name even once.

How can it be okay that, while I have enough to eat and so much to spare, people in places like Yemen and Syria are literally starving to death, without ever once hearing the way to Heaven?
How can it be okay that literally millions of children live on the streets, facing stuff we’d never even think of in our nightmares?

How can be it okay that 80,000 people die every single day, never having heard the Name of Jesus even once?

How can that be okay?
How can I be the same, knowing that?
Okay, so I can’t change it all.
But I can’t do nothing.

I can ask Jesus what He wants me to do in response.

“For unto whomsoever much is given, of him shall much be required; and to whom men have committed much, of him they will ask the more.” Luke 12:48b (KJV)

Lord, break our hearts and help us do what we can to make a difference.

 

Scripture quotations from The Authorized (King James) Version. Rights in the Authorized Version in the United Kingdom are vested in the Crown. Reproduced by permission of the Crown’s patentee, Cambridge University Press
Leave a Reply

