Can you relate to these thoughts?

Sometimes I catch myself thinking things like this:

‘That’s never going to change.’

‘That’s just too big a problem.’

‘If God was going to answer, He would have done so by now.’

‘It’s too late for that to ever change.’

‘I could never pray enough about that, so I might as well not pray at all.’

‘That’s just too hard to fix.’

Says who?!?

What if God has something incredible in mind?

What if the prayers are building up and building up and building up and about to spill over in answers… But I give up too soon?

What if Satan is really just trying to dampen my faith, because faith adds such power to prayer?

What if God is just waiting for someone to pray, because He wants to answer?

I think back to other times: things I thought would never be answered; things I thought would never change. Only they have! If I could have seen ahead, I would have been amazed.

Why not again?

I need to go back and find promises to hold onto: promises from my Father, which I can claim as my own.

Like:

“And whatsoever ye shall ask in my name, that will I do, that the Father may be glorified in the Son. If ye shall ask any thing in my name, I will do it.” John 14:13-14 (KJV)

Or:

“Ask, and it shall be given you; seek, and ye shall find; knock, and it shall be opened unto you: For every one that asketh receiveth; and he that seeketh findeth; and to him that knocketh it shall be opened. Or what man is there of you, whom if his son ask bread, will he give him a stone? Or if he ask a fish, will he give him a serpent? If ye then, being evil, know how to give good gifts unto your children, how much more shall your Father which is in heaven give good things to them that ask him?” Matt 7:7-11

Or:

“The effectual fervent prayer of a righteous man availeth much.” James 5:16b

Or even this:

“Jesus answered and said unto them, Verily I say unto you, If ye have faith, and doubt not, ye shall not only do this which is done to the fig tree, but also if ye shall say unto this mountain, Be thou removed, and be thou cast into the sea; it shall be done.” Matt 21:21

Or many, many more!

And I need to dream big: to ask for big things, because, after all, His thoughts are not my thoughts and His ways are not my ways. He is far bigger than me (and yes, that means it may not be in my way or my time, but He always knows best!). 🙂

Sometimes I play a little game: I stop and think of ten things to ask God for- and I ask Him! It forces me to think out of the box: to realise that I have a blank cheque, and I can just ask! It’s fun, and encouraging, and, after all, prayer works!

I dare you to do the same. You could take a moment to submit your heart to God and ask Him to guide you and give you faith… and then make a list of ten things you want to see God do… and ask Him! You could keep the list, pray over it and wait for His answers.

I bet He will amaze! 😉

Leave a Reply

