It was Just a Dream- or was it?

Last night, I had a dream. In the dream, I was in Syria. A country at war.

It was a terrible, frightening world.

Nowhere was safe. I kept having to move on. It was a world of dreadful chaos and fear.

It was the stuff of nightmares.

In the dream, I had some children with me. They weren’t mine, but they needed looking after and I loved them.

I looked after them for a while and then, in the chaos, I lost them.

It was a deeply troubling dream.

But I woke up. There I was in my bed, with the soft sheets around me and the stillness of safety and peace, and the comfort of my God. I could snuggle down and go back to sleep.

After all, it was just a dream.

For me, that is.

But it’s not a dream for millions of people out there, although it sure might feel like a nightmare.

And many of them don’t know my Jesus, and how He gives forgiveness and eternal life to all who come to Him in repentance and faith.

Many of them are being attacked.

Many of them have lost children.

Many of them are starving to death.

And how can that be ok? And how can I do nothing?

It may only be prayer but, hey, prayer changes things. For real.

Lord, help us never forget the world in need.

And, Lord, help us do what we can to help.

 

Leave a Reply

