The Key to Peace

Do you struggle to trust Him sometimes? I know I do! He has been teaching me things that are wonderful… and I am struggling to apply. They’re still worth sharing, though, so here goes…

The key to peace is trusting Him. It’s being little and letting Him be God. Letting Him have control. And actually believing that He is good.

That He knows what’s best. That He really is working for the good of those who love Him.

Because the bottom line is that He loves His people. Really loves us. And He will not let us down.

You can give Him your burdens and let them go. You can let Him carry them for you. Because that’s what He promises to do.

“Casting all your care upon him; for he careth for you.” 1 Peter 5:7 (KJV)

He will not only carry your burdens. He will carry you.

“Hearken unto me, O house of Jacob, and all the remnant of the house of Israel, which are borne by me from the belly, which are carried from the womb: And even to your old age I am he; and even to hoar hairs will I carry you: I have made, and I will bear; even I will carry, and will deliver you.” Isaiah 46:3-4 (KJV)

No, He won’t drop you! And He won’t drop your problems, either.

You don’t have to try to work it out yourself. Instead, simply trust.

Isn’t it so clear and so simple, and don’t we so often forget?

Trust in the Lord with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge him, and he shall direct thy paths.” Proverbs 3:5-6 (KJV)

You can trust that His plan is best.

He gives you His peace. He wants to be your peace. Giving you a peace you couldn’t begin to understand.

Peace I leave with you, my peace I give unto you: not as the world giveth, give I unto you. Let not your heart be troubled, neither let it be afraid.” John 14:27 (KJV)

 “Rejoice in the Lord always: and again I say, Rejoice. Let your moderation be known unto all men. The Lord is at hand. Be careful for nothing; but in every thing by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known unto God. And the peace of God, which passeth all understanding, shall keep your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus.” Philippians 4:4-7 (KJV)

His will for you is joy. Really! Rejoice, and again He says rejoice!

“Rejoice evermore. Pray without ceasing. In every thing give thanks: for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus concerning you.” 1 Thessalonians 5:16-18 (KJV)

Because joy is deep and strong and gutsy, and joy rooted in the right place gives you a strength that comes from God.

 “And Nehemiah, which is the Tirshatha, and Ezra the priest the scribe, and the Levites that taught the people, said unto all the people, This day is holy unto the Lord your God; mourn not, nor weep. For all the people wept, when they heard the words of the law.

Then he said unto them, Go your way, eat the fat, and drink the sweet, and send portions unto them for whom nothing is prepared: for this day is holy unto our Lord: neither be ye sorry; for the joy of the Lord is your strength.” Nehemiah 8:9-10 (KJV)

Come to Him, and let Him give you rest.

 “Come unto me, all ye that labour and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest.Take my yoke upon you, and learn of me; for I am meek and lowly in heart: and ye shall find rest unto your souls. For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.” Matthew 11:28-30 (KJV)

Because ultimately He is God… and He is good.

And, in trusting Him, we find our peace.

“Lord, my heart is not haughty, nor mine eyes lofty: neither do I exercise myself in great matters, or in things too high for me. Surely I have behaved and quieted myself, as a child that is weaned of his mother: my soul is even as a weaned child. Let Israel hope in the Lord from henceforth and for ever.” Psalm 131 (KJV)

 

Scripture quotations from The Authorized (King James) Version. Rights in the Authorized Version in the United Kingdom are vested in the Crown. Reproduced by permission of the Crown’s patentee, Cambridge University Press.

Leave a Reply

