Moments

Do you sometimes find yourself going through the motions and forgetting to take the joy: forgetting to be grateful for the blessings that surround you? I know I do!

Lately, I’ve occasionally caught myself in the busyness, going full steam ahead, forgetting to breathe for a second and thank God for the moment. Life in our office is busy and intense. Errands and writing are squeezed into spare minutes. My mind is often whirring all day long… and then I catch myself for a second and suddenly notice something He has given me: a glimpse of the wide, glittering sky over the garden as I unlock the front door; lacy, white blossom on a freshly budding tree; the taste of hot, good food when I’m hungry; the warm, encouraging words of a friend. And sometimes I find myself suddenly aware that I am deeply, deeply blessed.

And behind it all is the Lord, reminding me of His presence with me always; reminding me of His goodness; reminding me of His love.

After all, “Every good gift and every perfect gift is from above” (James 1:17a, KJV).

And sometimes He so gently reminds me of what I so often forget: Thank You.

Leave a Reply

